BIJAPUR Tourism, BIJAPUR Travel Guide

Bijapur Banner

About Bijapur - Karnataka Tourism

Bijapur is a well known travel destination of Karnataka, famous for its historical monuments that are of high grandeur and architectural importance. Bijapur contains a plethora of tourist attractions that include awe-inspiring monuments that were constructed during the Adil Shahi dynasty. The most important of these places to visit is Gol Gumbaz, which has one of the largest domes in world. There are other architectural masterpieces in Bijapur like Ibrahim Rauza and Jumma Masjid. Another important tourist attraction in the city is Malik-e-Maidan, which is the largest bell metal guns in the world. Bijapur also has remnants of an ancient citadel, fort and sprawling outer city with tombs and mosques.

Bijapur is one of the largest district in Karnataka state. The city was founded by the Chalukyan dynasty during the 10th century. The city came under Muslim influence towards the end of 13th century and was ruled by various rulers including Allaudin Khilji, Bahamani Sultans and Adil Shahi dynasy. Bijapur experienced a great burst of architectural activity under the Adil Shahi dynasty. The Adil Shahis encouraged building activity to such an extent that the city itself has over 50 mosques, more than 20 tombs and a number of palaces.

Bijapur is also used as the starting point for nearby travel destinations that are of historical importance including Aihole (110 km), Pattadakal (134 km) and Badami (120 km). 

Bijapur History - Karnataka Tourism

Bijapur was ruled by the kings of Adil Shahi Dynasty during the period of 1490∼1686. Bijapur originated from the Bahmani Sultanate which was split into five splinter states known as the Deccan sultanates, one of which was Bijapur. The city was majorly developed under the rule of Yusuf Adil Shah, who was the founder of the independent state of Bijapur. Adil Shah's dynasty ended in 1686, when the city was conquered by Mughal emperor Aurangzeb.

After the 1818 defeat of the Peshwa by the British in the Third Anglo-Maratha War, Bijapur passed into the hands of the British East India Company, and was assigned to the princely state of Satara. In 1848 the territory of Satara, along with Bijapur, was annexed to Britain's Bombay Presidency when the last ruler died without a male heir. After India's Independence in 1947, the district became part of Bombay state, and was reassigned to Mysore State, later Karnataka, in 1956.

© All Rights Reserved.